Aggressive Driving

Aggressive driving in Arizona, sometimes referred to as “road rage,” is a misdemeanor offense that can be charged whenever someone commits a combination of three traffic violations. It’s a more well-defined version of reckless driving, but it is actually a more serious offense. Aggressive driving in Arizona is a class 1 misdemeanor, while reckless driving is a class 2 misdemeanor. This means that the maximum penalties are 6 months in jail, a $2500 fine, and 3 years of supervised probation. Aggressive driving can also have serious implications for your ability to drive in Arizona.

The Aggressive Driving Statute: A.R.S. 28-695

Aggressive driving is defined as a combination of the following traffic violations:

  • Speeding + 2 or more of the following:
  • Failure to obey a traffic control device
  • Passing on the right hand side of another vehicle and driving off the roadway
  • Changing lanes in an unsafe manner
  • Following too closely
  • Failure to yield

An aggressive driving conviction means that you’ll be required to attend traffic survival school. Even if you do, the judge can suspend your driver’s license for 30 days. If you are convicted a second time within 2 years, your driver’s license will be revoked for a full year!

If you think you might be able to challenge any one of the traffic violations that make up an aggressive driving charge, it is certainly worth trying. A lot of these violations may be based on the subjective interpretation of an overzealous police officer. Offenses like following too closely or unsafe lane change are particularly open to interpretation.

If you are charged with aggressive driving, it’s important to consult with a lawyer who is experienced and knowledgeable regarding Arizona traffic laws. In addition to giving you a criminal record, aggravated driving can result in jail time and the suspension of your driver’s license. You owe it to yourself to do whatever you can to avoid these consequences. For a free case evaluation, call our Tucson, Arizona office at (520) 314-4125 or contact us online.


Consult the following links for more information about Arizona Criminal and DUI laws, as well as local court information:

Arizona Revised Statutes

Tucson City Court

Pima County Justice Court

Pima County Superior Court

Maricopa County Superior Court

Pinal County Courts

Santa Cruz County Courts

BAC Calculator